FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester

FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

15 Aug - 7 days to go!

With just a week to go until FC United’s first ever home match in the Northern Premier League, fc-utd.co.uk will be counting down the days until the historic kick-off with a series of fascinating facts about our new league.

FACT 1: Since its inception in 1968, four former Champions of the Northern Premier League have gone on to appear in the Football League: Macclesfield (champions in 1969, 1970, and 1987), Wigan Athletic (champions in 1971 and 1975), Boston United (champions in 1977 and 1978) and, most recently, Accrington Stanley (who were champions in 2003).

In addition, Gretna FC plied their trade in the NPL from 1992 until 2002 when they switched to the Scottish League. This season they have reached the Scottish Premier League for the first time in their history.

Home Email Facebook Reddit

First Posted ~ 11:03 Wed 15 Aug 2007
News ID ~ 1101
Last Updated ~ 17:14 Fri 11 Oct 2013