FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester FC United of Manchester Pitch In

FC United of Manchester Smaller Text Larger Text

Development Squad win in Rochdale

On a warm sunny evening the FC Development Squad went to Rochdale Town and came away worthy winners with a 3-0 score line that could have been higher.

The hosts featuring ex FC Youth players Carl Fitton and Connor Naughton, started well forcing a corner in the first minute and some good possession. One of their better chances came late in the first half when Carl Fitton burst forward from left back and shot narrowly wide. It was FC though who looked more threatening throughout.

Strike partners Theo Kidd and Liam Ellis gave the reds a two goal lead in as many minutes, midway through the half. Firstly with Richard Smith winning the ball with a firm challenge in midfield, Danny Mukuna fed the ball to Theo Kidd to slot home and shortly afterwards Liam was on hand to slot home after a Daniel Maynard effort was saved.

A first half central defensive pairing of Sam Hibbert and Lewis Lacy looked assured throughout as did keeper Sam Andrew, but with a game against Bolton looming Hibbert and Lacy were withdrawn at half time, last week’s Oldham Boroughn starlet Jordan Dainty was this week’s second half substitute and showed why Chuks was so keen to recruit him. Matthew Boland and Frank van Gils also came on at half time and gave their usual terrier like performances, threatening the home goal.

There was however only one other addition to the scoring when Ibukun Modupe-Ojo showed sufficient strength to get beyond the home defence and round the keeper to slot home. Further chances came and went and were often denied by tight offside calls by both assistants.

Website man of the match is between the two Sam’s with the decision given to keeper Andrew for a full 90 minutes of marshalling the defence and assured distribution.

FC United of Manchester:
1. Sam Andrew
2. Ryan Lyons
3. Lewis Adams
4. Richard Smith
5. Sam Hibbert
6. Lewis Lacy
7. Daniel Maynard
8. Danny Mukuna
9. Mike Taylor
10. Liam Ellis
11. Theo Kidd.
12. Denico Walters (for 11, 62 mins)
14. Jon Poizer (for 10, 45 mins)
15. Frank Van Gils (for 6, 45 mins)
16. Jordan Dainty (for 9, 45 mins)
17. Ibukun Modupe-Ojo (for 7, 66 mins)
18. Matthew Boland (for 5, 45 mins)
19. Jayson Fowles (for 3, 72 mins)

First Posted ~ 09:42 Wed 24 Jul 2013
News ID ~ 4987
Last Updated ~ 02:52 Tue 16 Feb 2021