FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

Match Details   

3.00pm Saturday 11th July 2009


Harrison Park, Macclesfield Road, Leek, Staffs, ST13 8LD

Leek CSOB 1 - 4FC United of Manchester

Attendance: 370

Match Report

FC United’s new striker Ben Deegan scored a second half hat-trick as the Reds beat Leek CSOB 4-1 during a nostalgic afternoon of football which also saw a fantastic goal from former fans’ favourite Adie Orr.

The Red army returned to Harrison Park nearly four years after FC United played their first ever competitive game there in what was then the North West Counties Football League Division Two. Karl Marginson’s side ran out 5-2 winners that day and he called upon several players who had played in that match and in our inaugural season.

Phil Priestley was back between the posts, Dave Brown was reunited with David Chadwick at the back, Steve Spencer was rolling back the years in midfield alongside Tony Coyne and Craig Fleury whilst Joz Mitten partnered Orr up front.

Just as with four years ago, United found themselves a goal down early on but they hit back in formidable fashion very similar to how they had done on the same ground in 2005. Former Manchester City left-back Ben Morris was making his Reds debut as a triallist and it was his cross from the left wing on 17 minutes which was converted by a stunning diving header from Orr.

The scores were level at the break and Margy introduced seven substitutes to give a run-out to several new faces including former Ashton United forward Deegan and ex-Altrincham midfielder Val Owen.

Deegan went on to steal the show. He scored his first 13 minutes after the restart courtesy of a tap in after being set up by fellow debutant Shaw, his second came in a similar manner on 75 minutes and he completed his hat-trick with five minutes to go when he fired home the rebound from a penalty save at the second attempt. Sam Ashton, who had replaced Priestly at half-time, had also saved a penalty minutes earlier.

The day provided an enjoyable trip down memory lane for a few hundred supporters and a number of players and staff connected with the club but perhaps more importantly it will give Margy a better idea of which players he name in his squad for the season when he announces it in the next few days.

FC United
1 P Priestley
2 D Warrender
3 B Morris
4 S Spencer
5 D Chadwick (capt)
6 D Brown
7 C Fleury
8 T Coyne
9 J Mitten
10 A Orr
11 S Williams

12 B Deegan (for 10 47)
13 S Ashton (for 1 46)
14 A Leke (for 9 47)
15 P Dieyte (for 4 47)
16 D Lyons (for 7 47)
17 V Owen (for 8 47)
18 (wore 7) J Shaw (for 11 47)
Previous MatchNext Match

Football Club United of Manchester,

Hope Mill, 113 Pollard Street, Ancoats, Manchester M4 7JA

FC United Office Email - office@fc-utd.co.uk

FC United Office Fax - 0161 273 7598

FC United Office Phone - 0161 273 8950

Free Text Message Service - 07786 200 353

The Living Wage Foundation
127 Club Members
Academic Papers
Advanced News Search
Away Grounds
Away Tickets & Travel
Club Manefesto
Code of Conduct
Complaints Procedure
Contact FC United
Co-owners' Area
Development Fund
Disabled Access
Doing Things Differently
Election Policy
Equal Opportunities
Ex-FC Utd Players
FC United & Live TV
FC United Blog
FC United Shop
FCUth Website
FCUM Radio
First Visit
Fixtures / Results
Friendly Criteria
Home Tickets
Info for Visiting Fans
IPS Rules
League Table
Man of the Match
Match Day Photos
Members' Forum
News Archive
News Search
Old Boys
Punk Football
Press Releases
Season Tickets
Stats / Records
Supporters' Groups
The Pink
Text Service
Web Archive
Who Are We?
You Tube
Copyright (c) 2005-2014 FC United of Manchester (except fixtures, tables and images used by kind permission of their respective rights holders). All rights reserved.