FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

Match Details   

7.30pm Monday 17th October 2016

FA Youth Cup

The Welfare Ground, Crofton Community Centre, Middle Lane, New Crofton, Wakefield. West Yorkshire. WF4 1LB

Nostell Miners Welfare FC Youth 2 - 3FC United of Manchester

Attendance: 81

Match Report

The reds travelled to West Yorkshire to take on Nostell Miners Welfare in the FA Youth Cup 3rd Qualifying round. The hosts had the scalps of Farsley Celtic and Sheffield FC in earlier rounds to suggest they would be worthy opponents, and so it proved as the reds came away with a 3-2 win and a place in the first round of the competition proper.

FC United opened the scoring on 15 minutes when a corner from Jack O’Leary found, via Mike Jones, the head of Will Shawcross and the corner of the net. Nostell had their share of possession but had only really tested the reds with free kicks until on 28 minutes a ball from the left wing by Danny Youell caused sufficient confusion to find its way home for an equaliser.

FC United took a half time lead from an excellent corner routine. Jack Ward ’s cross went beyond the far post and was met by Charlie Sykes who headed to O’Leary to score.

Cameron Horner added a third on the hour to finish a neat move in which Steve Affleck played a ball behind the Nostell left back for Will Shawcross to run in and set up the finish. Shawcross was unlucky not to score himself, hitting the post in a passage of play that saw three FC corners in succession in the 73rd minute.

From there on FC United looked to close the game out but Nostell refused to allow them such a luxury, keeper Elliot Campbell venturing forward for a corner at one point. It was from another corner that Adie White pulled a goal back in the 88th minute, leading to a nervous period for the reds which included five minutes of time added by the referee.

There was a good number of FC United fans in the crowd of 81 who went home happy and awaiting the next round draw on Friday when League 1 & 2 clubs enter the competition.

Nostell Miners Welfare:

1. Elliot Campbell
2. Red Bates
3. Joshua Jackson
4. Robert Parkin
5. Finn Ellis
6. Connor Wilkinson
7. Joel Blackburn
8. Adie White
9. Jay Hall
10. Bailey Holderness
11. Danny Youell

Substitutes :

12. Liam Hughes (for 7, 67 mins)
14. Elis Longstaff
15. Joe Senior (for 2, 78 mins)
16. Franklyn Komeh (for 11, 83 mins)

FC United of Manchester:

1. Adib Badri
2. Steve Affleck
3. Jack O’Leary
4. Mike Jones
5. Steeve Eddy
6. Sam Baird
7. Will Shawcross
8. Charlie Sykes
9. Cameron Horner
10. Jack Ward
11. Kamahl Fuller


12. Robson Brown (for 11, 78 mins)
14. Sam O’Donnell
15. Francesco Frangillo (for 9, 70 mins)
16. Lewis Unwin
17. Mason Davies (for 10, 63 mins)

Previous MatchNext Match

Football Club United of Manchester,

Broadhurst Park, 310 Lightbowne Road, Moston, Manchester, M40 0FJ

FC United Office Opening Hours - Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm

FC United Office Email - office@fc-utd.co.uk

FC United Office Phone - 0161 769 2005

FC United Office Fax - 0161 769 2014

Free Text Message Service - 07786 200 353

The Living Wage Foundation
FC United A-Z
Site Index

127 Club Members
Academic Papers
Advanced News Search
Away Grounds
Away Tickets & Travel
Broadhurst Park
Club Board Chart
Club Manifesto
Club Structure
Code of Conduct
Complaints Procedure Contact FC United
Cookies Policy
Co-owners' Area
Co-owners' Forum
Development Fund
Disabled Access
Doing Things Differently
Election Policy
Equal Opportunities
Ex-FC Utd Players
FC Groundhoppers
FC United & Live TV
FC United Blog FC United Shop
FCUM Radio
First Visit
Friendly Criteria
Half Time Draw
Home Tickets
Info for Visiting Fans
IPS Rules
League Table Links
Man of the Match
Match Day Photos
Members' Forum
Moston Juniors FC
News Archive
News Search
Old Boys
Ops Board Chart
Org Charts
Pink Newsletter
Punk Football
Press Releases Records
Season Tickets
SLT Chart
Supporters' Groups
Text Service
The Pink
Travel Hub
Web Archive
Who Are We?
You Tube
Copyright © 2005-2017 FC United of Manchester (except fixtures, tables and images used by kind permission of their respective rights holders). All rights reserved.