FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

Match Details   

7.45pm Friday 16th September 2016

Galaxy Lancashire League

Church Lane, Church Lane, New Mills, High Peak, SK22 4NP

New Mills 2 - 6FC United of Manchester

Attendance: N/K

Match Report

FC United of Manchester Reserves recorded their first win at New Mills, two goals from Reuben Dass along with strikes from Tom Brown, Matthew Hamilton, Dean Hope and Roger Degue saw a 6-2 win for the reds at Church Lane.

The start of the game gave little suggestion of what was to come as rather than dominate possession and fail to score, the reds were very much second best for 15 minutes as New Mills controlled the game. A Rico Gomes free kick for the reds was the first chance after two minutes but his shot was off target as then the game was played very much in the red half of the pitch. The only surprise at that time being that it took 11 minutes for Nathan Orrell to open the scoring having been allowed the freedom of the FC penalty area.

Fortunately that seemed to shock FC United into life, from then on with Hope wide on the right and Dass wide on the left , the Millers would struggle to cope with the attacking threat. On 17 minutes Dass showed what was to come, breaking in to the box to set up Gomes, his first shot was saved and although the rebound broke kindly his second effort drifted wide. Three minutes later Dass set up a chance for himself, hitting the outside of the post before Gomes returned the favour on 22 minutes. Dass firing back across Aaron Gibbs in the home goal to equalise.

For a few minutes the sides traded blows with Hope for the reds and Duncan Knott for the Millers firing wide with free kicks then as the half hour mark approached, Hope found Hamilton for a shot wide and New Mills went straight up the other end and Orrell came close to his second. Two minutes later FC took the lead, a raking pass found Hope on the right and his ball in broke to Tom Brown to give the reds the lead.

Five minutes later it was FC United’s turn to launch a threat with a goal kick. The ball found its way to Hope who crossed to Dass. His shot was saved but the rebound was returned with interest by Hamilton. Hope got his reward five minutes before the break, cutting in from the wing and shooting. Gibbs got a hand to the ball but was unable to keep it out making it 4-1 at the break.

FC started the second half brightly with Gomes the focus of the early action. A run to the edge of the box gave Hamilton a chance that hit the post but would have been ruled out by an offside decision; then he appeared to have been bundled over in the box but nothing was given. In the 51st minute, his shot was turned out for a corner, taken by Hope to Sam Baird his shot was turned in by Dass for 5-1.

New Mills responded to that by hitting the post barely a minute later but in truth that was probably one of only two chances they had throughout the second half. The visitors spent the next five minutes pressing hard but without success , Dass, Gomes, Hope and Hamilton all having good chances.

The pace slowed a little from then on as FC United made three substitutions as Hope, Brown and Baird came off. Even so, Roger Degue, Jack Ward and Benn Veitch could have added to the scoreline. However it was New Mills who scored next as a penalty was awarded in the 78th minute which Carlton Mackintosh duly converted. The reds restored the four goal cushion almost immediately as Ward fed Degue for a run in on goal. A seventh was ruled out two minutes later, an effort which appeared on target anyway was finished by Degue from an offside position.

Another FC penalty appeal was turned down late on. All three claims in the game seemed to be similar in nature but as there was no referees eye view available, we must assume that some differences were apparent from on the pitch as opposed to the touchline.

The game then drifted to a close and FC ran out with the kind of comfortable win that play in previous games merited.

New Mills:

1. Aaron Gibbs
2. Tommi Baker
3. Scott Percival
4. Thomas Meachan
5. Daniel Ryan
6. Cameron Barnes
7. Nathan Orrell
8. Alex Royle
9. Duncan Knott
10. Dylan Wolstenholme
11. Liam Moore


12. Luke Butterworth
14. Joe Hingira
16. Carlton Mackintosh
17. Mason Mostyn

FC United of Manchester:

1. Adib Badri
2. Julian Ofori
3. Benn Veitch
4. Chris Hill
5. Sam Baird
6. Steeve Eddy
7. Reuben Dass
8. Tom Brown
9. Rico Gomes
10. Dean Hope
11. Matthew Hamilton


12. Jack Ward (for 5, 61 mins)
14. Kamahl Fuller (for 10, 61 mins)
15. Roger Degue (for 9, 69 mins)
16. Joshua Dunn (for 11, 69 mins)
18. Mason Davies (for 8, 61 mins)

Previous MatchNext Match

Football Club United of Manchester,

Broadhurst Park, 310 Lightbowne Road, Moston, Manchester, M40 0FJ

FC United Office Opening Hours - Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm

FC United Office Email - office@fc-utd.co.uk

FC United Office Phone - 0161 769 2005

FC United Office Fax - 0161 769 2014

Free Text Message Service - 07786 200 353

The Living Wage Foundation
FC United A-Z
Site Index

127 Club Members
Academic Papers
Advanced News Search
Away Grounds
Away Tickets & Travel
Broadhurst Park
Club Board Chart
Club Manifesto
Club Structure
Code of Conduct
Complaints Procedure Contact FC United
Cookies Policy
Co-owners' Area
Co-owners' Forum
Development Fund
Disabled Access
Doing Things Differently
Election Policy
Equal Opportunities
Ex-FC Utd Players
FC Groundhoppers
FC United & Live TV
FC United Blog FC United Shop
FCUM Radio
First Visit
Friendly Criteria
Half Time Draw
Home Tickets
Info for Visiting Fans
IPS Rules
League Table Links
Man of the Match
Match Day Photos
Members' Forum
Moston Juniors FC
News Archive
News Search
Old Boys
Ops Board Chart
Org Charts
Pink Newsletter
Punk Football
Press Releases Records
Season Tickets
SLT Chart
Supporters' Groups
Text Service
The Pink
Travel Hub
Web Archive
Who Are We?
You Tube
Copyright © 2005-2017 FC United of Manchester (except fixtures, tables and images used by kind permission of their respective rights holders). All rights reserved.